Charles Spungin



Charles became Chairman of Jewish Child’s Day in 2017 having served as Honorary Treasurer since 2014, joining the National Council in 2008. He has worked in banking and finance and is currently Managing Director with Wells Fargo Asset Management.  Charles grew up in Nottingham and fondly remembers fundraising for Jewish Child’s Day with his cheder and with BBYO in the early 1980s. After moving to London following university, he completed the Adam Science Leadership Course in 1995 and was later re-introduced to Jewish Childs Day through their alumni network. He is an active political supporter and follower and is a member of Hampstead Garden Suburb Synagogue.  He lives in Finchley with wife Lucie and daughters Emily and Natasha.

Virginia Campus

Vice Chairman
Virginia has been involved with Jewish Child’s Day for many years. Her late mother was Vice Chairman, which inspired her to continue the family involvement.  Virginia notes personal highlights of her time as Vice Chairman being visits to Israel and parts of the United Kingdom where she was able to experience first hand the difference Jewish Child’s Day can make to the lives of Jewish children.  She is a District Nursing Sister in West London and in her spare time she plays a variety of sports and volunteers for other charities.  She is passionate about travel and cooking.

David Collins

Honorary Secretary

David qualified as a Mathematics teacher, working in various Secondary Schools (including JFS, as Head of Department) before he was appointed Head Teacher of North West London Jewish Day School. He was in post for 24 years and latterly was also a lecturer at the University of London for teachers studying for the National Professional Qualification for Head Teachers. Whilst Head of North West he was invited to join the Board of Jewish Child’s Day. David’s last post before he retired was as Acting Head Teacher of Matilda Marks Kennedy School for two terms in 2008. Apart from being Honorary Secretary and a Trustee of Jewish Child’s Day, he is also a Trustee of the Phyllis Nathan Charitable Trust; a Governor of Matilda Marks,and a reader-volunteer for Norwood’s ‘Talking Books’ (for the blind). David has two married daughters – one who lives in Israel, the other in the UK – and four grandchildren.  He divides his time equally between Tel Aviv and Finchley, where he is an active member of the Minyan at Kinloss United Synagogue.

Joy Moss MBE

Life President

Joy’s charitable career began in the 1960’s when she became a founder member and Chairman of the Desert Dons, raising funds for David ben Gurion’s university in the Negev. In 1976 Joy ‘married into’ the Jewish Child’s Day charity, where her mother-in-law was Vice Chairman.  She joined the National Council soon afterwards and has devoted her charitable endeavours to Jewish Child’s Day since then.   Joy chaired Jewish Child’s Day for over thirty years during which time, she worked with six successive Executive Directors to grow the charity and the increase the number of projects it supports to its current level. She was awarded an MBE for services to charity in 2012. Joy is married to Jewish Child’s Day Trustee, Stephen Moss CBE, and has two adult children.  Joy was made Life President in November 2017 and continues to be a fantastic influence on the Charity.

June Jacobs CBE

Life President

juneJune Jacobs CBE is a British Jewish peace activist and a former President of the International Council of Jewish Women.

She rose to prominence as a founder and first Chair of the National Council for Soviet Jews, regularly leading missions to visit refuseniks in the 1970s Soviet Bloc.

Jacobs has become best known since that time as a strong advocate of Jewish women’s issues. As President of the International Council of Jewish Women, she represented the organisation at the UN Commission on the Status of Women in New York. She remains involved today through her membership of the European Women’s Lobby and Women’s International Commission.


Charles Spungin

Virginia Campus

David Collins

Gary Cohen

Frankie Epstein

Amanda Ingram

Gaby Lazarus

Dee Lehane

Stephen Moss CBE

Susie Olins

Melvyn Orton

June Jacobs CBE, Life President

Joy Moss MBE, Life President